RSS

The Big “C”…. Again!

18 Oct

I’ve been having a semi break from blogging recently, just too much important stuff going on.

I mentioned a while ago in a post for Clic Sargent that my mother in law had beaten the odds and recovered from Colon cancer fifteen years ago. Two years ago, the day before our wedding, she was diagnosed with breast cancer and after a two-year haul through chemo and radiotherapy, she beat that too!

However, the demon that is the “Big C” is determined for her to lose the fight as it has reared its ugly head once more. Three times?! How unlucky can one woman be?!

After a well deserved trip to Liguria a few weeks ago, my in-laws returned home with my mother in law complaining of headaches. The man of the house surely sent her off to bed with an aspirin and a hot water bottle thinking it was the change of weather having an effect.

The next morning my mother in law couldn’t stand. She had lost the use of her legs and all sense of balance. The headaches had worsened.

Numerous tests and cat scans at the hospital ensued and then the phone rang. My father in law, through choked back tears, told the Italian that the doctors had found three, not one, but three tumours on his mothers brain. We were stunned! Again? All this, again?!

As soon as you hear the words cancer and brain in the same sentence you automatically think negatively. The Italian, in his panic, wanted to get on a flight straight away but what could he do?

He is in the fifth week of a new job, I’m seven months pregnant and we live in another country. The feeling of uselessness is incredible.

I can’t begin to imagine what my husband is going through right now. I can’t imagine what my mother in law is going through right now. She’s sorry for the grand children, she said. Sorry for the grand child that I hope and pray she gets to meet in a few months time.

But that’s it isn’t it, time. Time. Far more precious than we give credit for.

I pray for time to stand still while the doctors do their tests. I pray for the time to hurry up while the doctors get the results and do something . I pray for time so that my mother in law meets her newest grandchild and that Bambina gets to kiss her Nonna again. I pray for time that my husband gets to say goodbye to his mother properly, if that’s what it comes to.

I pray that time will heal her… Again.

Related Articles:

The C Word (Tea & Biscotti)

Stand Up to Cancer UK

 
19 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2012 in Italia

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “The Big “C”…. Again!

  1. dutchgoesitalian

    October 18, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    What a horrible and sad story. It’s completely unfair, but so out of her and your family’s hands….
    Take care and wishing with you that time will help you so nonna can see her grandchildren! PS: Liking this post might seem a bit strange, but I mean it in a good way!

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      October 18, 2012 at 3:29 pm

      Thanks for your thought and best wishes. Im send every ounce of positivity her way! xx

       
  2. Slummy to Yummy Mummy

    October 18, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    Oh, no! That’s so terrible. I hope time and luck are on your side. After reading this I’m sure lots of people will suppose that Stand Up To Cancer campaign. Thinking of you and your family at this time. Lx

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      October 18, 2012 at 3:30 pm

      Ah thanks so much. The campaign couldnt have come at a better time. So many poor people suffering from that, so cruel.
      x

       
  3. Aleda

    October 19, 2012 at 3:24 am

    My heart goes out to your family. And my prayers as well. I lost my mum to cancer a few years ago, and she told me the best thing we did for her was keep her involved in our lives no matter what was going on in hers. We always told her what was going on, even as we asked how she was doing. I think that knowing what we were up to and that we would be ok was one of the things that truly kept her spirits up through all of it. It helped also to remind her that we loved her and that if she ever had any doubts, we knew what a wonderful job she did as a mum. Just gave her peace of mind. And photos of the kids always cheared her up, so we got into a habit of emailing a new one every day. I don’t know if that helps at all, but that’s how we handled things on our end.
    Love and prayers.

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      October 19, 2012 at 10:41 am

      Sorry to hear about your mum but its also a lovely story of how you handled the situation. Photographs are a must for us, as well Skype, as we live in London and them in Venice. Although she’s not up to Skyping at the moment, I’ve started collecting photos of the girls (3grandaughters) to make a memory book for her. Hopefully that will give her some hope and a small smile.
      In the meantime the only thing we can do is make the absolute most of what we have.
      Thanks again for your advice & well wishes, it really is appreciated a lot!
      xx

       
  4. Kate on thin ice

    October 19, 2012 at 8:37 am

    Such a tough situation. Sending prayers and best wishes,.

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      October 19, 2012 at 10:37 am

      Thanks Kate, really appreciate your wishes. x

       
  5. Mummy Glitzer

    October 19, 2012 at 10:09 am

    Oh I am so sorry to hear this. Sending all of my best wishes and prayers. Xx

     
  6. amummysview

    October 19, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    oh honey I am so sorry to hear that. I am thinking of you all and I too pray that time gives her a chance to once again fight. *HugeHugs* for you all xxx

     
  7. sharingmyitaly

    October 20, 2012 at 12:17 am

    So sorry to hear about your mother in law . . . she sounds like a strong woman and I am sure ahe will not give up her battle easily ….I will pray for time too xx

     
  8. Emma Day

    October 22, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    Oh no that’s awful. I’ve done two stand up to cancer posts too over the weekend and donated. I hope your MIL continues to Stand Up To Cancer. Best wishes to all of your family while she fights this. Xx

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      October 30, 2012 at 8:02 pm

      Thanks so much! And im so sorry to hear about your dad, hope he slaps this horrible disease in the face and pulls through ok.xx

       
  9. Mummysknee

    October 22, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    Oh no, I have tears in my eyes. I feel for all of you. My good friend has just been told her tumour has grown, so sad and for your Mother in Law to beat it twice already. I hope with everything crosse that she is one lucky lucky lady & it’s third time lucky and you can kiss goodbye to cancer & not your MIL. Big hugs. Jo xxx

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      October 30, 2012 at 8:00 pm

      Me and you both hoping that she pulls through. I watched my gran die of cancer and its just horrid, I wouldnt wish that kind of evil on an my worst enemy. Sorry to hear about your friend, hope she’s strong and doing ok. xx

       

Leave a Reply

 
