RSS

The Italian: All Too Much

07 Sep

Foto

Sometimes being married to an Italian is HARD WORK!!

Usually I can’t fault him. He cleans (more than I do). He cooks (better than I do). He does the washing (not better than I do but at least he does it without me having to ask/remind him).

However, there are a few things lately, just a few, that are irritating me.

I apologise in advance for the rant but needs must.

In following the SatNav, I say to him “get in your right hand lane”. He doesn’t and in his refusal to believe for a split second that I might actually be right, he ignored me, took a wrong turning, got us lost and added half an hour to an already long journey!

I’m pregnant. Iwas tired. I needed to go to bed. I said to him “would you mind taking the washing out of the dryer and fold it before you come to bed”. He did take it out of the dryer, whilst it was still damp and left it in a pile on our spare bed. Not only was the duvet now damp but my work clothes were not dry and they were also now creased to high heaven!

I was at work. Busy. I said to him “please can you call the estate agent today and confirm the details”. He didnt’t. His excuse? Didn’t have time! What? In between afternoon snoozes, feeding the ducks and having coffee in the park with your daddy mates. So so busy! Funny how he can walk around the house wearing the floorboards out when he’s on the phone to his family or friends but as soon as he’s in the street he can’t walk and talk at all. Incredible.

It’s just all too muh! Is this the stubbornness of a foreign man or just men in general? I find Italian men to be particularly selective in the hearing department. This then causes their understanding of normal everyday concepts to be extremely difficult! Perhaps I should just stop moaning and sod off to the park, apparently life is much better there!

Men eh! Who needs’em?!

X-O-X

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2012 in London

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “The Italian: All Too Much

  1. Maria @ Feisty Tapas

    September 8, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    I already said this the other day and I will say it again: it’s not nationality dependent. Case in point: Thursday night, husband goes out to the garden for a cigarette, I ask him to take the rubbish out of the garage and into the front of the house while he is at it (I always do it after all since we moved and I don’t smoke so right at that moment I am an angel). I’ll do it in the morning he says, they don’t come that early. Several times we have been through the: if they are only collecting rubbish and not recycling they do collect early since we moved here a few months ago.

    Friday morning: he texts me from downstairs: Typically today they have been early.

    I give up.

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      September 10, 2012 at 7:12 am

      I just killed myself laughing at that, sounds like an average day in our house! They’re useless aren’t they!!

       
  2. Ellie at Emerald Pie

    September 8, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    Yep definitely a man thing. Not just Italians. I think they learn to switch their ears off at an early age. Selective hearing of course. 😉

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      September 10, 2012 at 7:14 am

      I have tried to develop the selective hearing approach but eventually, because I hear everything, I give in and shout… To which the Italian replies.. “i’a thought you’a we’re a not a listenin’?”… Grrrrrr…. 🙂

       
  3. Aleda

    September 8, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    Oh, heavens, honey. All men are like that. Unless it’s something they actually want to do, they rarely have time for it. Nationality notwithstanding. ALL of them. Have faith. Eventually they learn what you will really have a cow about, and you’ll learn what never to ask them. 🙂

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      September 10, 2012 at 7:16 am

      So how long does the learning process take?? Haha my patience is often in short supply as it is let alone without having to make it stretch!
      Thanks for your comment & fit visiting the blog, hope you found it entertaining.. See you again hopefully. 🙂

       
  4. Becky

    September 11, 2012 at 10:06 am

    Its also not gender specific. I am the lazy b*tch when it comes to anything domestic in our relationship. Put washing on, clean things – meh – who can be a*sed? On Sunday I practically had to drag my husband kicking and screaming into the garden to have a sundowner with me. It took him about 10 minutes to get up and start pulling up weeds!

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      September 11, 2012 at 10:13 am

      None of us prefer to do the washing, ironing etc over other more enjoyable things. My point was more that whilst the Italian is very good at doing that stuff (as am I!), he’s only good if it’s his choice and decision. God forbid that I ask or suggest anything, not necessarily related to housework, then selective hearing syndrome kicks in – its the blatant pretending not to hear or acknowledge me thats the red flag to a bull!! Can’t win’em all… x

       
  5. Becky

    September 11, 2012 at 10:33 am

    Oh god I do that too (pretend not to hear). I had no idea that was annoying – You’ve made me feel bad now!! ha ha

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      September 11, 2012 at 10:36 am

      Haha you pretend not to remember too.. Doubly annoying, just an FYI haha 😉 xxx

       

Leave a Reply

 
