RSS

A New Addition #1

02 Sep

A few days ago on my Facebook page, I made an ever so tiny announcement.

The Italian, Bambina and I are expecting a little one to join our crew!

It was only three years ago that I was told by doctors that my chance of conceiving may be difficult. Well, with mother nature on my side, I seemed to have proved those doctors wrong. TWICE!

I had no idea I was pregnant. I visited my doctor approximately two months ago to discuss how I should best stop breast feeding. Bambina turned one year old in June so I had decided enough was enough. Whilst at the appointment I also discussed contraception methods as it was not in our plan to have another child just yet. Little did I know that our second miracle was already in place!

Although I had done my own reading and research, the doctor told me that once breast feeding had stopped, the menstrual cycle would return within about two months. So, I was expecting a visit any time now.

However, exacty three weeks ag today, I was rather ill with severe enough stomach cramps to wake me from my sleep. I couldn’t breathe, I couldn’t do a wee, I couldn’t get comfortable. This lasted well into the next afternoon so as adamant as he is, the Italian took me to our local hospital to get checked.

The first thing the hospital doctor asked me was “is there any chance you could be pregnant?”.

“Not at all, I only stopped Breast feeding about three weeks ago and haven’t had a menstrual cycle since before I conceived Bambina”.

Apparently, Breast feeding is pretty much a fail safe for the first six months and after that you’re on your own! You don’t need to have a cycle in order to ovulate. Although unknown to me, that’s exactly what had happened.

The doctor did a test, then another and sure enough, as I had gone into hospital with a suspected kidney infection, I came out with a new addition to the family.

It was positive. Both tests were positive. The Italian punched the air and squealed with delight. I sat open mouthed.  The blood drained from my face. This was not good.

I hopped on to the bed to be checked and as the doctor’s hands slid this way and that over my abdomen, she pulled a surprised face.

“This baby is big!” she exclaimed. “I would say based on the position of the womb, you are between 16 and 20 weeks”.

What?? Come again?? 20 weeks?? That’s FIVE months. FIVE months!!

As I collected my belongings from the stray plastic chair, the Italian put an arm around my shoulder and the doctor passed me a tissue to wipe my tears.

This was not good.

*TBC…

X-O-X

Related Articles:

Mother Knows Breast #1 (Tea&Biscotti.com)

Mother Knows Breast #2 (Tea&Biscotti.com)

Mother Knows Breast #3 (Tea&Biscotti.com)

Mother Knows Breast #4 (teaandbiscotti.com)

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2012 in London

 

5 responses to “A New Addition #1

  1. dutchgoesitalian

    September 2, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    What a wonderful news!!! A new one in the family….soon. Wish you all the best 🙂

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      September 2, 2012 at 8:32 pm

      Thank you so much, we are very excited x

       
  2. Ellie at Emerald Pie

    September 2, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    Congratulations!! I’m sure you are still in shock – but what great news!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
