RSS

As Italy Beckons

25 Jul

The in-laws are back from the South of Italy laden with all sorts of goodies; home-made olive oil from their friend’s olive grove in Naples, biscuits and grissini and copious amounts of herbs – a lot of oregano that I have just watched my mother-in-law flake into a huge jar.

Before they departed in their mobile home camper van a month ago, my father-in-law told me he had planted tomato vines in our garden. Upon their return and having bathed in thirty degrees heat, he told me the other day that his tomatoes were now massive and juicy. After a fit of teenage laughter I told him I couldn’t wait to bite into one!

All this food talk got me really, really, excited to get to Italy and today when we finally arrived “home”, I was truly salivating about what delights awaited us for lunch.

I am especially looking forward to Bambina’s reactions to tasting fresh, just picked from the garden, vegetables, juicy fruit and freshly made this morning Ricotta – I am just bursting over with excitement for that!

In the meantime, here are a few of my favourite munchies from my Pinterest board La Mia Bella Cucina. This is for sure what I will be having for lunch for the next ten days!

20120718-081812.jpg

Prosciutto wrapped around rosemary grissini with big fat juicy green olives…buona! Foto

20120718-081850.jpg

Lovely locally made Ricotta cheese, fresh from the cow this morning Foto

20120718-081912.jpg

Mozzarella, so fresh, it’s almost mooning! Foto

20120718-081919.jpg

Olives, plenty of them, green, black, soaked in rosemary and garlic oil…Delicioso! Foto

20120718-081925.jpg

All washed down with a good glass of chilled, yes chilled, Chianti.  I don’t know if its normal to drink Chianti chilled but it’s how my in-laws like it and in this heat, as long as its cold and wet, im not complaining! Foto

Buon Appetito!!

X-O-X

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2012 in Italia

 

3 responses to “As Italy Beckons

  1. Ellie at Emerald Pie

    July 26, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    Delicious. Lucky you!!!
    You cant beat good fresh Italian food. In Italy. In the sunshine!

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      July 27, 2012 at 11:33 am

      I know but the problem is I’m eating far more than I need! Oh Well, I’ll worry about that when I get home 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
