RSS

Italian Men: Style Guru?

21 Jul

I have just spent the best part of an afternoon hunting in wardrobes, draws, suitcases and bags to find any item of clothing that fits me. When I say “fit”, I mean go over my leg higher than my knee or over my head lower than my neck!

The air was blue. That was until the Italian came into the room to see what the commotion was. I shed a tiny tear of frustration that my baby weight is trespassing wherever it can set up camp on my body and he burst into laughter explaining that his situation was far worse.

How so? (I won’t attempt to write in my usual take on an Italian accent).

“Well”, he said, “I’ve been a stay at home dad for twelve months, I’ve eaten far more than I should have and exercised far less than I should have. Money has been tight and the majority of my current wardrobe is from Primark.   I’m about to go to Italy where I know my family and friends will ridicule me for the weight gain and chastise me for the ill fitting ill suited outfits.
And you think that you have a problem?!”

Ok amore mio, point taken.

So it seems that the Italian is just as fearful as I am of rocking up in Venice looking like a beached whale in Bermuda shorts and flip flops. Here readers, is the reason for his concern. Italian men are generally very cool, well dressed and always matching. Always!

Just check out these average run if the mill fellas from my Pinterest board, La Mia Bella Moda.

I feel his pain, I really do! That said, I’m really looking forward to the eye candy *glances sheepishly through dark sunglasses as handsome men walk by*.

20120718-173426.jpg

Do we really beleive that these guys are on a lunch break from the office? Too cool for school. foto.

20120718-173557.jpg

The scarf.  LOVE.  The colours just add a litlte bit of umph.  Italian men, they can do it like this. foto.

20120718-173549.jpg

Now this is how you stand out in a crowd! My Italian would wear this, the brighter the better! foto.

20120718-205058.jpg

Every Italian man needs a Vespa as his main accessory! foto.

Even older Italian men look fabulous!  In Italy, age doesnt define when you become a slob – check out this old dudes shoes! I wouldnt mind strolling down the strada with him when i’m collecting my pension. foto.

As Shakespeare said, the clothes maketh the man!

X-O-X

Related Articles:

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2012 in Italia

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Italian Men: Style Guru?

  1. kaie w. bird

    July 24, 2012 at 2:36 am

    I agree with just about everything you said and adore it all!!!! Yay Italian menz: they make the world go ’round. = ) Love this post!

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      July 24, 2012 at 7:36 am

      Don’t they just, well, that is until they reach 40 and sprout a pot belly, bald patch and start wearing white vests :-)) thanks for your comment, do visit again!
      Loving the name of your blog, will check it out today 🙂 Buona giornata! x

       
  2. Becky

    August 8, 2012 at 10:17 am

    What is more delicious, Italian food or Italian men? LOVE this pictures – this is exactly the kind of man I saw myself marrying. Why then can I not encourage my man to wear anything other than primark t-shirts?

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      August 8, 2012 at 10:22 am

      Ha! I did marry one of these men but he only looked this good on our wedding day…and they say women let themselves go!!! 😉
      Btw.. Italian food is always delicious.. Italian men don’t stay delicious for long, as soon as the pasta belly and bald patches start, there aren’t enough canary yellow jackets in Italy that can help!
      x

       

Leave a Reply

 
