RSS

Italian Women: Style Guru?

19 Jul

Yesterday I was Skyping my sister-in-law to confirm that she has a push chair for me to borrow next week when we touch down in Venice town.

I haven’t seen her for a while as she has been at her in-laws beach house in the South of Italy. I was horrified!

There she was all tanned and brown as a berry, all slim and svelte, not a hair out of place and wearing a beautiful cerise pink summer dress. There I was, all white and pasty, still in my pajamas, yesterday’s mascara had slid to my cheek and my hair hadn’t seen a brush for days!

Oh dear Lord! What am I to do? I’ve got a week to wax, EVERYTHING, pedicure, manicure, hair died, eyebrows done, skin scrubbed, fake baked and dig out any item of summer clothing I have that 1) fits me thirteen months after giving birth and 2) isn’t black. It’s a task but for the sake of vanity I’m up for the challenge. Think Susan Boyle meets Sofia Loren!

This is it, you see, Sofia Loren, she’s a icon; beautiful, classy, stylish, sexy. She’s Italian. Italian women just have it.  Dont they?

Here are a few effortlessly stylish signorinas from my Pinterest board La Mia Bella Moda showing us how Italian fashion, street style, is done.

20120718-082020.jpg

Love this yellow dress and colouful shoes.  I would definitely need a tan for this outfit! foto.

20120718-082030.jpg

The shoes.  Elegant.  Nude.  Loving a nude shoe these days but again, doesnt look great with pasty white legs – tan me up! foto.

20120718-082039.jpg

Now I happen to know that this little number is Dolce & Gabbana.  Its a classic and teamed up with flats and 50’s sunnies, this is right up my strada! foto.

20120718-082050.jpg

Again, flat embellished shoes go so great with this pretty dress.  Got to get me some jewelled flats! foto.

20120718-082054.jpg

Imagine looking this cool when youre in your lounge gear! Italian style is most certainly in the genes. foto.

20120718-205025.jpg

This is my favourite! I’m not too into tattoos (I dont have any) but I love the dress, the hat, the flat shoes and i even love the tatty cotton bracelets.  This girl just oozes cool, chatting on a street corner.  Belissima! foto.

You see what I’m up against!! Wish me luck.

X-O-X

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 19, 2012 in Italia

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Italian Women: Style Guru?

Leave a Reply

 
