RSS

Italy in a Car Park: Brockley Market

16 Jun

As my in-laws are sunning themselves in forty degrees heat in Southern Italy, the Italian and I decided to cheer ourselves up by cooking a nice Italian lunch for friends. What perfect opportunity to head out to our local farmers market in search of ingredients.

We had driven past Brockley Market lots of times but today we finally made an effort to pay it a visit. I’m so glad we did!

There was lots of really good street food to choose from: Mexican omelettes from Dias de los Muertos (although they call themselves ‘muerto’ without the plural ‘s’, not grammatically correct but apparently they’ve been told a million times so.. I digress!) , burgers from Mother Flipper. There was grilled mackerel and BLTs, cakes, breads, olives and even squid! There were fruit and vegetables, fish and chicken and even juices from Serious Smoothies made with Peruvian Macca!

Amongst all of this merriment we managed to get excited about a few Italian items that we could use for lunch. Here are a few photos that I took to prove that it’s not hard at all to find a bit of Italy in a South East London car park!:

Brockley Market, Saarf East Landon

We found an amazing Italian sourdough ring at Aston’s which was to die for and our friend from Rome said its the best bread she’s tasted, ever! (outside of Rome that is.. of course)

From Olive Branch we found amazing Olive Oil and..

a Tuscan tapanade which I couldn’t stop eating with the free grissini..oops!

The best buy of the day was without a doubt the fennel salami and the red wine and hazelnut salami from Moons Green Charcuterie. These pork Gods are from Kent and what they don’t know about meat is not worth knowing. I swear, and even the Italian agreed, that when tasting the fennel salami you never ever know it had been made in England! Amazing.

Although not for our lunch, I also bought some of these gorgeous white baby aubergine to go in the vegetable lasagna that I will be making for Bambina.

All of this with lots of tastings and a fabulous coffee, the best in London as far as I’m concerned, from Dark Fluid, and a wonderful morning was had by all!

Now I just have to remember to take more money with me next time I go as the stall holders only accept cash. I did spend a small fortune but if you want to eat well you need to spend well!

Yum Yum in my tum!

X-O-X

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 16, 2012 in London

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Italy in a Car Park: Brockley Market

  1. mondomulia

    June 20, 2012 at 9:56 am

    I work at the stall selling Olive Branch oil!!! 😉 I’m helping out in Brockley Market a few saturdays a month and I’ll be there this week! Stop by and say hi please!

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      June 20, 2012 at 10:26 am

      Ooh I absolutely will :)) Although it’s dangerous to let me anywhere near that Tuscan tapenade.. It’s to die for!

       

Leave a Reply

 
