RSS

Bambina’s Battles

12 Jun

Bambina had her first cat fight.

What actually happened was that she was attacked, right before my eyes.

We arrived at our local library just in time for nursery rhymes and found ourselves a comfortable spot close to the singer. I was sat on the floor with my legs crossed, Bambina perched in the well as though sat on her throne.

She was wearing a Hello Kitty! clip in her hair and it was this that I think attracted the attention of Lara.

Lara, an eighteen month old, was there with her twenty-something ‘im-more-interested-in-applying-a-billionth-stroke-of-mascara-to-my-fake-lashes’ mother. Lara was working her way through the baby crowd whilst her mummy titillated her face, paying no attention to her.

As Lara approached us I said hello as she stretched out a hand to stroke Bambina’s face. Yet, with one fell swoop, she hooked a finger in Bambina’s mouth and yanked her top lip! Bambina let out an almighty scream which startled Lara’s mummy into looking up from her compact mirror to see what the commotion was.

Lara, feeling the glare of her mummy’s eyes through the buckets of Rimmel weighing them down, turned to see what, if any, would be the consequence of her actions. None.

I was astounded! Before I had chance to beckon the mother to come constrain her child, Lara slapped Bambina across the face!!

With that, the Liverpudlian in me kicked in, the veins filled with venom and through gritted teeth and squinted eyes, I yelled at Lara’s mother from the across the room “I think you should put your make up bag down and come remove your unruly child!”.

Bambina, still screaming, clung on to my neck for dear life. Lara’s mother came over to view the damage and instead of apologising merely asked Lara in her mousiest voice possible “why did you do that baby?”.

I was half livid that someone, another baby, treat my daughter like that, and half aware of not to show myself up as a screaming fishwife in front of the other mummies who sat looking on in bewilderment at what had just happened.

The whole thing took about twenty seconds and then was over. I still don’t know if I was more astonished at Lara’s outburst or at her mothers refusal to acknowledge it.

Later as I was recounting the tale to the Italian, he told me “you’a jus’a wait till’a she’s start’a school’a!”.

That’s it. I’m going to have to enrol her in a martial arts class ASAP so that she can karate chop her way out of lip pulling and face slapping by the time she’s two!

That’s the moral of the story isn’t it – it will, without a doubt, happen again.

Has this happened to any of your children? How did you approach the culprits parent without looking and sounding like wailing banshee? How do you encourage your child to stick up for themselves without teaching them aggression?

I would love to hear your stories, drop me a line!

X-O-X

*Picture credit: www.parentreviewers.com

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2012 in London

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Bambina’s Battles

  1. amummysview

    June 18, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    Hmmm the lovely age of pushing shoving slapping hair pulling.

    I was in a soft play with my mum and daughter once and there were two mothers just sat chatting letting one of their children run wild and terrorise others. My little girl was probably a year or less at the time, couldn’t walk let alone defend herself. This little girl kept getting this evil glare across her face and I mean really evil it was scary. She would push not only my little girl but also me, she grabbed me round the neck on the edge of the ball pool and nearly pulled me in!!! I was gobsmacked! She even got hold of the walker my little girl was sat in and tried ramming it repeatedly against the wall! I told the little girl not to do that and that my daughter was just a baby and she had to be gentle and kept trying to move away from her. The prob is I didn’t know who the mum was till we were on our way out (needless to say I left because of the little girl getting on my nerves!) I should have said something when I saw her go across to her mum but I did just leave it as we were leaving anyway.

    I also had an experience in another soft play when I was in a ball pool with my daughter and 8 young boys came in and started having a ball fight. I was trying to get out but balls were flying everywhere and I was trying to protect my little girl from them hitting her (she was quite young). Then to my amazement one of the boys started repeatedly throwing the balls at my head! The location of the ball pool was where no parents could see and it was really busy so no idea who his parents were. I just firmly told him to stop and that I had a little baby that could get heard but again he hardly listened!

    Makes you wonder how some parents are bringing their kids up!

     
  2. mother.wife.me

    June 18, 2012 at 9:54 pm

    What a dumb bint of a mother. Unfortunately the worst attacks that TT has had to deal with have involved the child of a very good friend of mine. Thing is though, she is a brilliant mother and her son is in general gorgeous, he’s just developed a thing of lashing out when he’s tired of stressed. She would never just let one these episodes pass over his head though. How is a child to learn if they aren’t guided. Sounds to me that you did very well not to go further when telling this woman to sort her child out, so there you were, showing Bambina decorum and restraint, she’s a lucky little lady.

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      June 19, 2012 at 7:39 am

      We also had a friend’s daughter kick her in the face but that was just an accident and totally normal. This incident was purely because the mother didn’t know how to rear her child and so, well, she didn’t. Hence the poor thing running wild and not knowing right from wrong. I dread to think of the life she has ahead if her. Sad.

       
  3. Multi Layer mummy

    June 18, 2012 at 11:09 pm

    This did indeed happen to my first child and I did deal with it but it was back when you could scold another’s child without incident. Now with my second child (2 decades on) just starting nursery I will have zero tolerance again but will have to count to 20 instead of 10 this time! So far we have had only nice children & good experiences. I would have definitely asked the mother to tell the child to at least say sorry, you were quite restrained, I think Bambina is a little young to know, all she knows is her mummy saved her from the nasty girl x

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      June 19, 2012 at 7:40 am

      It’s hard isn’t it nowadays to know when to say something and when you should just turn an eye. The problem is that I’m not that good at turning an eye 🙂

       
      • Multi Layer mummy

        June 19, 2012 at 2:30 pm

        me neither T&B 😉 you will strike a balance though as time goes on with what to say & what to ignore.

         
  4. Lisa @ hollybobbs

    June 19, 2012 at 5:21 am

    I am rubbish at saying things to parents, but I have seen so many times children shove and push H over when she was too little to defend herself and parents do nothing, or are too busy chatting to even notice! It annoys me no end, just because you are at a play centre, it doesn’t mean you shouldn’t watch your children!

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      June 19, 2012 at 7:41 am

      It’s so sad, children ate left to run riot while some patents sit and gossip. No wonder children lack discipline these days!

       

Leave a Reply

 
