RSS

I’m a Lavazza Semi-Finalist!

09 Jun

Last week was a massive headache for me.  I had to arrange and deliver Bambina’s first birthday party, we put our stamp sized apartment up for sale and had to carry out various DIY tasks and I had a bit of a family catastrophe to contend with – all of which led me to believe that I just didn’t have the time or the brain power to continue with the Lavazza #CoffeeSetMatch challenge Wimbledon Challenge.

Then, to my astonishment I received an email to declare..”Congratulations, the judges have put you through to the Semi-Finals!!”.  What?? Me?? But my last recipes were rubbish and I’ve hardly dedicated any time to it.  Apparently the judges saw through my misdemeanours and gave me the nod to carry on anyway.

So, today off we went for a family knee’s up!  It’s been a while since Bambina, the Italian and me spent a whole day together, lunching, shopping, chatting and generally having fun so today was rather special because we made a huge effort to enjoy our little Lavazza adventure.  I have been nothing but thoroughly dedicated to my Lavazza quest as I actually have a chance of winning now! Imagine that!  I’m in the flipping Semi’s!!!

Our first stop was at Ponti’s Italian Kitchen in Oxford Circus where I, correction, Bambina wolfed down a dish of tagliatelle with ragu and the Italian made no complaints in polishing off a Diavola pizza, which he informed was super delicious as it was made with semolina.  I remember semolina a poor child’s desert on the school dinner list, if you were lucky there might have been a few raisins thrown in the middle of the bowl. Pizza? made out of semolina? It was surprisingly tasty and as the Italian just corrected me, the base is not made solely out of semolina but a mix of that and flour, apparently it makes the base crunchier – now that we have cleared that up….

And lo and behold, after recounting the tale of the Lavazza Wimbledon challenge, the lovely lovely lovely waitress came over and said to me “We wish you the best of luck!” and handed over a Lavazza Wimbledon promotional espresso cup for me, as a gift, from Ponti’s!! How lucky am I?!  Its brilliant, it’s a cup that fits perfectly snug into the A Moda Mio coffee machine AND the best bit is that it’s got a cutie pie little lid that looks like a tennis ball and if you turn it upside down, it’s a coaster!! I love multi-functioning presents!

We saved ourselves for desert as we then headed off to Harrods, which I admit I’m a bit of a sucker for.  I’m not usually one for shopping, it bores me stupid and im somewhat lacking in the patience category but Harrods, there’s just something about it that make me a professional browser.

Today, however, I was there on a mission: to find the Lavazza coffee shop.  We went to the Gelateria who told us that Lavazza promotions had ended already.  That couldn’t be right.  They pointed us in the direction of the Godiva chocolate bar, who also informed us that Lavazza promotions had already ended.  No no no no no.  Wrong!  The Italian was relentless in his investigations to try find the Lavazza coffee bar and find it he did!

Lucia was absolutely adorable.  She let me be David Bailey for at least half an hour, taking snaps of everything in sight, rearranging cups, coffees, sugars etc.  She then delivered us the most amazing cappuccino and not only did she offer it us “on the house” she also came laden with a gift, for moi! Oh yes, another Lavazza Wimbledon promotional espresso cup for me to take home!!

What a successful expedition we had!

To win a prize of your own, you should look out for promotional cups on take away Lavazza coffees, or enter online.  Prizes include six pairs of tickets to Wimbledon, 90 Lavazza A Modo Mio Favola Plus Wimbledon Limited Edition coffee machines and 500 sets of four exclusive espresso cups created especially for the tournament.

X-O-X

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “I’m a Lavazza Semi-Finalist!

  1. amummysview

    June 9, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    well done you and what great freebies! x

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      June 10, 2012 at 7:15 am

      I know, had a great day, the free stuff just kept coming! Wish that would happen more often! 😉 x

       
  2. mummyglitzer

    June 10, 2012 at 7:05 am

    Well done! Xx

     
  3. sharingmyitaly

    June 12, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    Good luck in the semis . . . for now, my friend, I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award!
    Details are on my blog
    http://sharingmyitaly.wordpress.com/2012/06/12/oh-the-small-things-that-make-a-bloggers-day-brighter/

     
  4. Michelle

    June 12, 2012 at 12:48 pm

    Very well done to you – lots of cope with and you’re still in the running. Oh, and well done with the above award too! xx

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      June 12, 2012 at 1:25 pm

      Ah thanks!! Yes, ive had a manic crazy few weeks, couldnt believe I got to the Semi’s – here’s hoping!! x

       

Leave a Reply

 
