RSS

IHeartNoBakeCake

02 Jun

When Lavazza told me that I was through to the quarter finals of the Lavazza Wimbledon #CoffeeSetMatch challenge, my heart skipped a teeny weeny beat.  I was thrilled but the mere mention of ‘stepping up my game’ filled me with dread because the lovely lady organising the whole shebang ended her email with “so now you better start baking“.  First thing’s first – I don’t bake, I burn!  I honestly, seriously cannot bake.  For someone as highly educated as moi, how hard can it be to read and follow a recipe? VERY! Cannot do it.

So, I set about thinking up concoctions that had the wow factor and didn’t require physical contact with an oven.  The results, I think, are pretty astonishing.

I had all kinds of things planned, especially for the Jubilee! My head was bursting with coffee creativity, that was until I was struck down with the dreaded stomach lurgy!

My non-baking etiquette, teamed with a house sale, a one year old’s first ever birthday party re-org due to British skies raining cats dogs, and, a rotten stomach bug, meant that my efforts in this round have been minimal.  I wont lie.  I just didn’t have the capacity this week to fulfill my quota. I now have eyes, fingers and legs crossed that this may just be enough to drag me, by skin and teeth, into the semi’s – when I promise to venture as far as the next room, my kitchen, open the oven door, put something in it, wait patiently and produce the goods, unmaimed!  Now Lavazza, anyone who knows me will vouch that this is no mean feat and I don’t offer the gauntlet softly – c’mon, give me a life line..

Anyway, usually coffee is savoured. Like a good cocktail, coffee is sipped and tasted, swilled in the mouth and rolled over the taste buds.  However, coffee as an ingredient doesn’t have to take time, it can save time.  Thats exactly what I wanted to do.

After coming up with a few ideas, I scoured my cookbooks (that sit on the shelf un-dusted), to confirm my thoughts.  My no-bake cheesecake was born.  Made with nothing but love and a few yummy ingredients, this little treasure can be knocked up in no time and really steals the show at a party!  I served this to my yummy mummy friends at Bambina’s party and they were very impressed at the speed and the taste! I was rather proud of myself!

What You Need:

1 capsule of Amoda Mio Lavazza coffee (any flavour)

1 packet of Oreo biscuits

75g of butter

1 packet of Ricotta cheese

1 small tub of Nutella

Fromage Frais

Raspberries

What You Do:

To make the base of the cheesecake, empty the whole packet of Oreos into a clear sandwich bag and bash the living daylights out of them until there are only a few lumps.

Then, melt the butter over a low heat and once into a golden liquid, add the Oreos and mix together with the coffee

Line a bowl with grease proof paper and empty in the mix making sure you flatten it out.  Place in the fridge for about 20 minutes until it sets.

Add about 3 heaped tablespoons of Nutella to the Ricottta cheese and mix aggressively.

Add on top of the Oreo base and put it in the fridge again to set.  After about 30min, take it out of the fridge and cut into slices – or, if you’re as creative as me, serve it up as a heart on a plate!

I love love love the inspirational photos taken from the Lavazza Con Te Partiró coffee table book that showcases the birth and history of the Lavazza calendar’s.

If you fancy winning a prize, you should look out for promotional cups on take away Lavazza coffees, or enter online.  Prizes include six pairs of tickets to Wimbledon, 90 Lavazza A Modo Mio Favola Plus Wimbledon Limited Edition coffee machines and 500 sets of four exclusive espresso cups created especially for the tournament.

X-O-X

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “IHeartNoBakeCake

Leave a Reply

 
