RSS

Cybher Gave Me a Headache!

14 May

By 8am I had left my tube ticket at home and had to go back for it, I had missed my train, a person took I’ll on the train I eventually got on and that one was redirected to a station where the tube was closed.

It’s fair to say that I had a headache before Cybher even started.

I met my new blogging buddy Mother.Wife.Me and for the first time met Making It As Mum who was laden down with luggage after a trip from Oxford and The Daily Mum who was very casually sporting her adorable four week old daughter, Bessy.

I didn’t know what to expect from Cybher but I was very pleasantly surprised and the free satchel was a lovely treat!

Let me tell you a few things I learned:

Business Cards

I had been stressing about business cards, remembering to hand them out, collecting others and deciding to whom I should give them. I think I gave out about five and probably came home with a handful too. To be honest, I don’t see the point in handing a business card to someone you chat with on what is probably a daily basis. I wasnt brave enough to go up to random bloggers saying.. “hello lovie, pop that in your new satchel!”. I still don’t know if that’s what I was supposed to be doing!

Boobs

Why is it a natural thing for us women to place our name cards on our left chest? I spent the best part of the day inconspicuously looking at women’s boobs in an attempt to know who they were.

Sessions

I was a bit greedy. Some of the sessions that I chose to miss, in hindsight, sounded much better than the ones I attended. Kid in a sweet shop syndrome set in – I wanted a bit of everything! How hard is it to make a choice? Very! I wish there was time to have attended them all.

My Blogging Future

This is the crucial bit. I learned that my book idea is a winner, that people would want to buy it and that I absabloodylutely should look into it. The best part of that is that I now have the know how and the contacts to help me get it started. For me, meeting and listening to Philippa Davies who blogs at Mrs Motivator was like finding the holy grail!

All day I listened, concentrated and took notes like I was preparing for an exam. I took it all in and I digested (most of) it. When the phone rang at 5:45pm to tell me to hurry home quickly because my daughter was poorly, I felt like I had been saved by the bell. My head was pounding. I don’t think I could have processed much more – I was facing meltdown, information overload!

The challenge now is to put my Cybher money where my mouth is and put to practice what the Gods of blogging taught me!

Big Grazie to Sian and crew for organizing such an empowering and inspirational day!

 X-O-X

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 14, 2012 in London

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
