RSS

My Boobs are BRAvellous!

07 May

Lately, I have been getting slightly involved in charity work. Which, I must confess, was never my intention when I started blogging. It hadn’t even occurred to me to be honest with you. Yet, my little blog has taken another angle. I’m still the Italian’s wife, I’m still Bambina’s mamma but I’ve found a little something that gives me a fire in the belly. For this reason, I am planning to self-host my blog so that I can dedicate a whole section of “La Mia Bella Vita” to things that I as a person, not a wife, not a mother, like and that includes my little charity endeavours. Watch this space.

I have thoroughly enjoyed being involved in the Blog it for Babies, Save the children, campaign. I have absolutely adored being a co-founder of the Blogging4Madeleine campaign with the very talented A Mummys View.

And I am already, so so so so excited about my new little venture, in support of Dirty Laundry and Breakthrough Breast Cancer.  Dirty Laundry is the brainchild of Sharon Holland Taylor. It’s a stage production covering one woman’s effort to strive for a fulfilled future after recovering from breast cancer. Along the way, she receives support from an unexpected source.  Check out the Dirty Laundry link above for more details.

Breakthrough Breast Cancer are attempting a Guinness Book world record for the longest chain of bra’s.  Each bra representing a donation from a woman who gives a toss about her knockers!

And so, without further ado, Ladies and Gentlemen, I bring to you BRAvellous!!

You might want to know why I’m a bit obsessed with my melons.  I’ll tell you.  My gran died of cancer.  A few years ago my aunt had a mastectomy.  Last year, the day before my wedding whilst we were all sitting at lunch, my mother-in-law answered a call from the doctor who rang to confirm that she had a 5cm tumour in her right breast.  What was worse, as if it could get worse, was that her mother, my husbands 90-year-old grandmother, was already fighting breast cancer.

After living through the chemo, the radiotherapy, the steroids, the hair loss, the wigs (that was actually quite amusing!), I know first hand how it feels to live with the fear.  The fear that the treatment won’t work, the fear that the cancer will win, the fear that my daughter who was then in my belly would never meet her Nonna or great-Nonna.  It fills me with sheer delight to report that both women won! They fought hard and stomped all over that disease and lived to tell the tale.

To support Breakthrough Breast Cancer, I would love for you to join in my linky and write a post about what your boobies mean to you!  And this doesn’t have to be just from a woman’s point of view! Men, Dad’s, write a post of about your wife’s boobs, have they changed over the years, what was your involvement in the breastfeeding routines etc etc – boobs are for everyone, right?

There’s something else. I need your bra’s!!  Yep, YOUR bra!.  A new one, an old one, a used one (you know, the ones that have gone a bit grey in the wash that you stuff to the back of the draw as a last chance saloon, yeah, that one).  Any bra.  I’ve not yet figured out the best way to get the bra’s from you but bear with me…details to follow.  Your bra will then be a very important link in a very important world record chain to break breast cancer!

In your post, it would be great if you could:

♥ Link back to Dirty Laundry and Breakthrough Breast Cancer (and Tea&Biscotti if you’re feeling generous!)

♥ Tell us what your boobs mean to you

♥ Tell us about your bra’s: with bra? without bra? big bra? small bra? matching bra? not matching bra? You get the picture!

♥ You could even take a picture of the bra you are going to donate!

♥ And finally, make sure you upload it to the linky so that everyone can get familiar with your coconuts!

♥ Feel free to use (copy) the very bad example of a badge that I made (above) – (sorry, it was a very shoddy effort)

Admit it, fewer things in life feel better than taking your bra off at the end of a long day!

You heard it here first… BRAVellous….coming soon to a blog near you!

X-O-X

Related Articles:

Mother Knows Breast #1

Mother Knows Breast #2

Mother Knows Breast #3

The C Word

*Picture credits to www.victoriasecrets.com via Pinterest.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “My Boobs are BRAvellous!

  1. Michelle

    May 7, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    Hello! What a wonderful idea and well done you for getting this going. Sorry I didn’t respond to your email, I was at my parents and I can’t send lengthy emails from my phone or it’ll be chucked out the window. Anyway, glad you’ve gone with Bra-vellous. I think that was a good choice. The only other thing I could think of was Bangers and Bristols – I note you haven’t mentioned them in that way so that’ll be how I do it in my post. I will defo send you a bra when you’ve got that detail finalised and I will defo do a post and link up. My Bristols have moved south and so maybe I’ll post about that!
    Well done KA
    Michelle x

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      May 7, 2012 at 8:37 pm

      Haha..cant wait to read yours! It will be a BRAvalous read! 🙂 I can see (I hope) this catching on! x

       
  2. amummysview

    May 7, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    Bloomin marvelous, yet slightly bonkers idea my lovely, well done! BRAvalous! I will have a think about my post and get writing. Thanks so much for the lovely mention too and for being a passionate and ambitious partner in crime. Here’s to 12th May xxx

     
  3. amummysview

    May 7, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    Fab and slightly bonkers idea my lovely well done and what a great cause! I bet you will have boobie searches going through the roof! lol! I am on board just need to have a think about my post. Thanks so much for the lovely mention above. Thanks for being a passionate and ambitious partner in crime. Here’s to 12th May! xxx

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      May 7, 2012 at 8:39 pm

      Can you imagine my boob searches.. that will be another post about crazy finds! Its absolutely my pleasure to partner up with you for #Blogging4Madeleine, I just hope it has a fantastic reaction – Im certain it will. x

       
  4. Really Rachel

    May 7, 2012 at 8:55 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful idea and I’m up for it. One of my son’s classmates, a little girl of 8, lost her mum earlier this year to breast cancer and she was such a wonderful lady. My nan also had breast cancer and died in fear that it had returned when I was 12 and I think there is history of it in her family but I’m not sure.

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      May 7, 2012 at 9:00 pm

      Such a shame about the little girl losing her mum. Unfortunately it usually does run in the family so its even more crucial to have a feel now and again. Thanks for all the RT’s and for getting involved, really appreciate it.

       
  5. ellenarnison27

    May 8, 2012 at 9:16 am

    Brilliant initiative and a great idea.

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      May 8, 2012 at 4:35 pm

      Thanks v much.. I’m finding it rather overwhelming how people have taken to it! Great stuff.

       
  6. Maria @ Feisty Tapas

    May 8, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    Such a wonderful idea! Count me in, in fact poke me if I don’t post within a reasonable time! Me and my boobage have quite a relationship, ups downs (mainly downward nowadays). I took a bunch of old bras to Bravissimo a few weeks ago (they raise money for Tommy through them) but I’m going to Cybher on Saturday too, so if I find one that doesn’t fit anymore, I shall get it into my Cybher bag 😉

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      May 8, 2012 at 4:37 pm

      Thanks Maria for you support & I will indeed prod you if you start slacking! 🙂 looking forward to hearing about your lady lumps! 🙂

       
  7. the dotterel

    May 8, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    Well, I’m game. Although I’m not quite sure what I can do, personally, to further the cause – not being the owner of a bra. But I know someone who is. And I know someone who has. Had breast cancer, that is. In fact, more than one – including my mother. So count me in. And if you can think of some use for a mere man, let me know!

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      May 8, 2012 at 4:43 pm

      My first man!! Horah I never thought if day that twice in my life! Lol.. Perhaps you could write about your experience with your mum, from a sons point of view. I think whatever angle you take for your post it will be refreshing to hear a male perspective. Men usually stead clear of discussing boobs, unless they’re, we’ll, “talking about boobs”. Looking forward to reading it and thank you again for getting involved. I think you’re just BRAvalous! 😉

       
      • Jan

        June 2, 2012 at 6:42 am

        I know how you feel, my mom was diagnosed with stage 3 non-small cell lung cnecar in May, they did radiation and chemo which got rid of the cnecar in her lung and lymph nodes in and between her lungs. But, it had spread into her bones and several other lymph nodes, they did more radiation and chemo but she and was only given a few months to live, that was in mid-august. I could not accept losing my mom who is only 43 so I did a lot of research and found what I feel is her best hope. Maybe a good option for your friend , too, there are a lot of Breast cnecar patients here as well. Also, while she is doing shemo look into interveneous vitamin C, you would probably have to do it through an alternative doctor, because mainstream doctors unfortunately are not well versed in natural supplements. I listed a few links for vitamin c info at the end.I am currently in the Bahamas with my mother. There is a clinic here that has been in operation for over 30 years. We have been here for 4 of our 8 week stay, everyday is really inspiring. A lot of the patients stick around in the meeting room/ waiting room to visit, and share stories and catch up. There are 40 people all talking and laughing, talking about cnecar and life. The returning patients talk about how bad their cnecar was 4, 8, 10, 18 even 28 years ago when they started coming to the clinic, the cnecar that has since disappeared. There is nothing dangerous or foreign to the treatment, just building up your immune system in a very effective manner that allows it to identify and fight the cnecar. If you want to know more contact me or go to I cannot tell you how impressed I am with what I have seen and how my mother has already improved. I know one man who was diagnosed with pancreatic cnecar, he skipped all US, conventional (poisonous, dangerous) options and went to the Bahamas and is doing great now. Another man who has been coming here for 18 years that had prostate cnecar. People with just about every type of cnecar. But, they are honest here, you send them your medical information and they will tell you whether they believe they can help you or not, and they will send you home if they don’t think you are benefiting. My mom has shown drastic improvements and is feeling so much better. and we are in the Bahamas so we are having a good Mother-Daughter vacation. When we got here she was on 75 mg of morphine a day plus 6ml of liquid morphine a day, now she rarely takes any morphine, and only occasionally takes Advil. Some of the pain she does get is associated with tumor kill, it happens to most patients as their immune system begins quickly destroying the cnecar cells, it is a good thing.There are a lot of alternative treatments out there worth looking into. I have also done a lot of research on the Cesium Chloride/DMSO treatment and think that it has merit and you can do it at home.The clinic here believes that a supplement/liquid called VIBE works really well in addition to other treatments, I am going to look in to that some more.One very helpful website isUS doctors push chemo and radiation, but when you look at the statistics and side effects it is not a good option for most people. My Mom had both before we came here and now that I know more about them and have researched them I feel horrible that I let her go through them. She was lucky (so far) the only long term side effect she has shown is short term memory loss. The stories I have heard from the other patients here about how they were treated by US medicine astound me. One lady went home to have a shunt put in her liver so she would be ok to come here, but they refused to put it in unless she agreed to do chemotherapy, is that what our country is about? Denying helpful procedures unless we agree to dangerous, toxic ones? The drug companies run US medicine at least when it comes to cnecar treatment and it is sad. Most doctors will tell you not to try alternative medicine and some will refuse to even see you again if you do. To some degree they are not to blame, they have not been taught anything about it other than that it is evil and wrong and they would be rejected by their colleagues if they suggested alternatives.I am not saying that this will cure anyone, but I have seen dozens of people that it has helped and dozens more that are just starting, but already showing improvement. Please whatever you do, research first. I am so happy my mom is feeling better and I want to be able to help everyone else who’s parent, sibling, child, friend or self has cnecar, I know how it feels to watch them get worse and watch the treatment make them more sick. Good luck!! My prayers are with your family.

         
  8. Mum2BabyInsomniac

    May 10, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    You can have my maternity bra! I have got good use out of it but to mark the end of my breastfeeding journey I just went out and bought some padded underwired bra to support my tiny 32B boobs! x

     

Leave a Reply

 
