RSS

Street Art: Love it, Don’t Loath it!

28 Apr

It’s not often that I notice graffiti to be honest. Well, yes, of course I notice it if it’s an eye sore but what I mean is I don’t pay much attention to what it actually is.

Today however I spent the afternoon walking around Brick Lane, the famous London street otherwise known as Bangla City, that houses a thousand Indian restaurants, colourful Sari shops and food stores that are an Aladdin’s cave of spice and flavour.  Amidst the hustle and bustle of Bangra sounds, my eyes were constantly drawn to amazing street art of women. Pictures were hidden in doorways, over shop shutters and in parking garages.

Check out some of these very cool images:

 I have walked down this street a thousand times and only noticed yesterday that it’s called Fashion Street! This is we’re the images began. The blue lady is a drawing of Lily Allen.

 How stunning is this?! I found this lipsticked lady on a side wall of a night club entrance. It’s a huge street mural.

This little lady was found on a garage shutter. She is actually really small and very easy to miss. Just look at the size of the lock to imagine it.

Hidden in the apartment doorway od No80 Brick Lane was this sad eyed little girl just waiting to be discovered.

And in the opposite street, in another doorway, hid her sister.

I was quite amazed at how I must walk around with my eyes shut, to have not noticed and appreciated the amount of man hours that goes into this street art. Admittedly I probably wouldn’t be so appreciative if it was on my own doorstep but Brick Lane is a vibrant, buzzing Asian part of town and somehow it just fits.

Next time I go out browsing on a saturday afternoon, I’ll be sure to keep my eyes peeled because I really enjoyed myself stumbling across these!

Hope you enjoyed them too!

X-O-X

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2012 in London

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Street Art: Love it, Don’t Loath it!

  1. andBerlin

    April 29, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    Lovely photos! I love the last 3 pieces by C215.

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      April 29, 2012 at 5:53 pm

      Thanks! I was pretty impressed with this street art as it was all hidden in places that you wouldnt think to look.

       
  2. Jean Carroll

    May 1, 2012 at 6:56 am

    Wow, what talent!

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      May 1, 2012 at 7:26 am

      My iPhoneography or their drawings?? 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
