RSS

My Italy: Liberation Day

25 Apr

Today in Italy it’s Liberation Day, Festa della Liberazione, a day that celebrates the end of World War II.  But lets not concentrate on the boring stuff.  What I want to tell you is that today, it’s also the feast day of Venice’s patron saint, Saint Mark, celebrated with a procession and other celebrations in Saint Mark’s Square.

So I thought I would have a little celebration of my own and share with you a few pics that I have taken over the years of Venice….my second home! Now obviously I think my own photos are pretty lovely, but if you want to see some professional snaps, check out Otts World. Absolutely stunning!

The Grand Canal just under the Rialto bridge -my favourite spot to watch the Gondoliers

St Mark’s Basilica, St Mark’s Square

Venice wouldn’t be Venice without a mask..

My husband is from the Friuli Venezia Giulia region and when I first starting visiting, to be honest I was bored stiff.  I didn’t appreciate its beauty but over the years I admit, it has grown on me.  Last summer we picked the hugest fresh tomatoes from the farmer’s field next to our house and made sauce for the pasta.  We picked courgettes and used the lovely yellow courgette flowers to fry – delicious!  And the best thing is this, every morning in summer, I make my breakfast, a hot steaming espresso and I sit outside on the terrace, put my feet up and take in the view.

Not bad waking up to this every day huh?!

And when the day gets a bit too much to bear, I can just wash it all away with a nice chilled glass of white made from the grapes that grow in the vineyard at the bottom of my garden!

X-O-X

 
15 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “My Italy: Liberation Day

  1. unavitaazigzag

    April 26, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    I quoted this post of yours on my http://turboitalien.com/2012/04/26/working-again-at-turbo-it-alien/.
    And soon I’ll link your blog too, provided that you don’t threaten me not to do it ;o)…

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      April 27, 2012 at 8:42 pm

      Hey!! Thanks so much, thats great..feel free! Ive checked yours out too, and some of the others mentioned.. Fab! 🙂

       
      • unavitaazigzag

        April 27, 2012 at 9:29 pm

        Grazie a te, sei proprio come un bel bicchiere di prosecco ;o)…
        (I think you can understand this sentence, however let me know…)

         
      • Tea&Biscotti

        April 28, 2012 at 9:48 am

        Si io capito tuto, multo gentile.. grazie! 🙂

         
      • unavitaazigzag

        April 28, 2012 at 10:04 am

        Very good and congrats for your brand new e-…ward ;o)…
        (Sì, [ho] capito tutto, [sei/sei stato]… molto gentile, grazie!)

         
      • Tea&Biscotti

        April 28, 2012 at 10:07 am

        haha very funny! Bear with me.. Im still learning… I think I’m creating a new language all of my own that just happens to sound a bit like Italian! 🙂

         
      • unavitaazigzag

        April 28, 2012 at 12:33 pm

        (Before closing the Net and the pc, I think for the rest of the week end, if nothing really special requiring their re-opening arises, I’m replying to some further replies I’ve got)
        So we’ve come to the language(s) issue(s), which, to me, as you noticed, is quite important, just because it’s an, or the ‘entrance gate’ to a culture, a country, a people, all in all…
        Virgil wrote – I give the English version – ‘Every (other) language you know is another soul you’ve got…’
        And you wrote me back also as for the right language – and possibly bi- or multi-lingual – education aimed at children, offering me a guest post or a series of a ‘guest post’ on this important topic, which I really thank you for, as this is/will be THE topic of my ‘Turbo-It…Alien’ (http://turboitalien.com) project advanced blog, which, together with ‘El Salòtt’ (http://elsalott.com), and ‘The Wonderboot’ (http://thewonderboot.com), would really get to build a smart, powerful, fair playing, top quality multipurpose ‘It…Alien(s) Network’…
        So, as I’m still studying and carrying on research, among other things (as, for instance, WordPress), on the best, fastest, cheapest (when not free or nearly free) way to get foreigners REALLY to understand, read, speak and write correct, modern, effective, real Italian (and basic Milanese too, for those interested specifically in the ‘El Salòtt’ project), when I’m really ready for what you offered me (starting ‘guest posting’ on the language issue), I’ll let you know.
        Grazie mille, Kelly Ann…

         
      • Tea&Biscotti

        April 28, 2012 at 5:17 pm

        No probs, when you’re ready. 🙂

         
  2. Devon Riesenberg (@DevonRiesenberg)

    April 27, 2012 at 10:52 pm

    simply stunning. I remember being in Venice and thinking I’d just step foot on a movie set or someplace make-believe because it was all just so beautiful and extraordinary, really. I cannot believe your view! Out-of-this-world! I love the one with the masks too…

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      April 28, 2012 at 9:33 am

      I know. I feel very lucky now to have this little piece of paradise. At first, and I dont know why, I really couldnt get to grips with Italian culture. Now that I’ve emersed myself and embraced it, it’s actually quite amazing! 🙂

       
      • unavitaazigzag

        April 28, 2012 at 10:07 am

        All the better: if you walked the other way around, we would have already lost you ;o)…
        Via così, bimba…

         
  3. Slummy to Yummy Mummy

    May 1, 2012 at 10:10 am

    Thank you for these pictures. I think Venice is my favourite place in the world. I need to hide in your suitcase…

     

Leave a Reply

 
