RSS

Who’s the Daddy?

03 Apr

When I first start blogging, I didn’t have a clue about the acronyms but I’m slowly figuring out it out. It’s a language all of its own.

I figured out that my OH (Other Half) is a SAHD (Stay At Home Dad).  Only for a short while longer.  Hopefully.

Almost four years ago the Italian decided to change his career so that we could enjoy a better life.  I was eternally grateful that he was planning to go back to school and change everything he had ever known – for me!  He has graduated with amazing results from an education system that he wasn’t familiar with, studied in a language that isn’t his mother tongue and surround himself with students 15 years his junior.  This was no easy feat.

We stayed up late checking essays, correcting English.  Mentoring.  Motivating him to do just this last paragraph.  I know it wasn’t easy for him but he did it!  And I’m proud of him.

What we didn’t expect was for the country to be the way it is now – hard! No jobs.  No moral.  No support. No encouragement.  It’s not our situation of choice but at times when he’s feeling low and unmotivated and just totally fed up with the world, I reassure him of this one thing:

Cherish every moment you have with your daughter for these times are too precious.  She will never be this tiny again.  She’ll never utter her first words more than once. She’ll never do her first crawl more than once and she’ll never reach out and give you that first adorable mouth open baby kiss, more than once.

I should know. I met my dad for the first time when I was 24.  He missed out.  He missed out big time!  It was fine for a while but then he chose to opt out – again.  He’s missing out now – again.

So amidst the interviews and the CV’s,the frustration and the rants, I remind the Italian to be strong. To look at Bambina, our most treasured little gift.  To grab every single moment with both hands and never let it go. For these are the things that will pick you when you’re down – the joy that you were there, there to experience Bambina’s “firsts”.

When I look at them together my heart fills, mostly with happiness that they have each other, and a bit with sadness that I didn’t have what my daughter has.  I’m happy for her.   A mother always wants better for her child, right? I’m elated that Bambina has better, much much better, than I had.  I chose well chosing him because I could never have found a more loyal and dedicated man to his family. The Italian is an amazing father, I look at him with her and I get teary – teary with happiness.  I’m happy for him.  I’m happy he has had this time alone with her, without me.

It will all change soon. Hopefully.  But in the meantime, my husband, the Italian, the SAHD, has the best job in the whole world..  Who is he?

He’s the DADDY!!!!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2012 in London

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Who’s the Daddy?

  1. Anna Gawron

    April 3, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    🙂 Love You guys!

     
  2. Grace

    April 4, 2012 at 9:08 am

    Great post! This is so heart-warming. Based on what I’ve read, I can already tell that you and your husband are MFEO (made for each other).

     
  3. Tea&Biscotti

    April 5, 2012 at 8:04 am

    Aw thanks Grace, that’s so lovelyof you.. you just made me well up! 🙂 Thanks for following the story, more to come xx

     

Leave a Reply

 
