RSS

A Few Things About Italy..

31 Mar

I suppose I should write a sort of intro to who I am, how I met my husband and what this “Italy” thing is all about.  I suppose I should.  Someday.

I have been to some wonderful far away destinations in my life and I can tell you, whole heartedly, that Italy was never on my top list of places to go – this in itself may be a shock to some but I’ve always been more interested in the more rare countries.  Italy is on the doorstep, right? Plenty of time to go there.  When I met my husband I was kind of forced to go and forced to like it.

I remember the first time he took me to Venice and got really really mad because I was like.. “ooh, yeah, its nice”.  I met my husband the week after I had got back from travelling so I had been spoilt on Machu Pichu, Sugar Loaf Mountain and Ankor Wat.  Venice to me was a river after that.  He just didn’t get the anti-climax.

It’s been a journey this whole ‘liking Italy’ thing but I can say that I’m almost there.  I kind of miss it when I haven’t been there for a while. I’m starting to appreciate how tasty fresh vine tomatoes are and I can even tell the difference between a good and a bad olive oil.

There have, however, been a few things that I just find a bit odd about Italy and Italian people in general.  Let me tell you a few things that I have discovered:

They eat hotdogs and chips as a pizza topping

They eat ice cream in the winter

They never ever ever eat an apple with the peel on! No no no…

The eat salad at the end of a meal (this is supposed to aid digestion and they actually believe that!)

When you go for dinner at someone’s house, they serve it on plastic throwaway plates (I’m not sure if this is to save on the washing up given any dinner is made up of at least 10 courses!)

Men do actually wear pastel coloured trousers and socks

Everyone wears sunglasses no matter what the weather

All women use Femiwash, not normal shower gel, it HAS to be PH balanced (bothered?)

They actually use a bidet on a daily basis, for bum washing, not for soaking swimwear

They would rather sweat to death than use the aircon as they are terrified of catching a cold

No wonder Italy is a country known for its relics, they keep everything and don’t replace anything (My mother-in-law tried to pass down my husband’s baby clothes for my daughter..he’s 40, he’s male.. how does that even work?  It does in Italy, waste not want not!)

Everyone dresses the same: same fairy hooded puffa coats, same faux patent leather wedge trainers, same same same…

And last and most weird of all, they are totally obsessed with Hello Kitty!

I’m sure some of these are complete generalisations and may only affect those Italians that I’ve met, seen, known etc.  But seriously, hotdogs and chips on a pizza??! Weird!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2012 in Italia

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “A Few Things About Italy..

  1. amummysview

    April 1, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    fab, that made me chuckle xxx

     
  2. Devon Riesenberg (@DevonRiesenberg)

    April 5, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    Strange about Hello Kitty! I wouldn’t have guessed that. The rest of your musings are so funny!
    We toured Italy in ’08 for our honeymoon…went all over and loved every minute! Positano, Rome, and Florence were my favs!

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      April 5, 2012 at 9:32 pm

      I can only say that my in-laws house is my fave as thats the only place we ever seem to go! haha Indeed, they are obsessed with Hello Kitty..I’ll post more on that when Im actually there as you would need pictures for the proof! 🙂

       
  3. Ellie at Emerald Pie

    April 11, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    My friend married an italian and at her wedding we Irish turned up in our best wedding finery without coats. Well it was early november and about 19 degrees – positively balmy by our reckoning. The italian in-laws were horrified at our “devil may care” attitude and kept offering overcoats and furs to keep up warm. Still makes me laugh!!!

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      April 11, 2012 at 9:37 pm

      Haha they are obsessed with weather and the fabric of clothes…God forbid you wear a cotton jumper past late September! Bag it up and get the lambs wool out by then don’t you know?! Thanks for the comment and of course for following Tea&Biscotti, hope you like it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
