RSS

I’m an Artist’s Model…Kind of…

30 Mar

So you know when you’re looking at someone because they’re looking at you but you don’t want them to know you’re looking at them… still with me?….I caught a glance of him in the corner of my eye, arm shifting erratically across the page.  Either the guy a few rows down from me on the train was drawing me or he was suffering from a really bad episode of the shakes!!

Why would anyone get out a sketch pad, on a train and draw me? I kept watching.  His arm was going for it, swishing across and back again, the pen in full sway as though sketching. Sod it! I had to ask!

Just in case I’d gotten it totally wrong, I put on my ‘sorry to both you’ face, eyes slightly squinting, nose scrunched…”excuse me, can I ask? are you drawing me?”

You’ve never seen someones face light up! He was famous! He’d been recognised for his talents at last!

Erh, well, yeah, kind of.  I’m an artist

Can I see, only I’m getting off at the next stop

He turned over his pad – not even a sketch pad but a proper lined ring binder work pad.  The cheek of it…since when did I have a square jaw like that???! and the feet, he gave me garden spades for feet! The funniest thing is the dress…. I was wearing trousers and he put me in a dress!!!  Oh no, the best is the window in the background… that criss-cross thing you see… that’s a pylon!! hahahahaha

Why me? I always attract nutters!!  I don’t know how I kept a straight face, he looked so impressed with himself. The lady opposite him looked so intrigued but she could tell i was mortified.  I said to him, “aah, that’s great, can I take a picture of it to show my husband, he wont believe it”.  Dead right he wouldn’t believe it!

I cracked up laughing as soon as my spade feet hit the platform! God love him, the world would be a strange place if we were all the same.

Michael Angelo has nothing on this guy!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2012 in London

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “I’m an Artist’s Model…Kind of…

  1. margoslife

    March 30, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    Fun story! Andy I’m so glad you took a picture of the drawing. One time about a 100 years ago an artist came to my ballet class and drew my feet in toe shoes. She used other student’s body parts for the painting she eventually did, but I walked around feeling kind of smug for a day or two that she chose my feet! On the other hand (ha ha – dumb puns) – didn’t exactly help with that teenage thing of looking oneself distilled down to body parts and we were all most jealous of the thigh and rear end girls 🙂

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      March 31, 2012 at 10:09 pm

      At least yours was an actual artist with an actual purpose, mine was a random guy on a train who SO was not an artist! 🙂 Did your drawing have a head? 🙂

       
  2. amummysview

    March 31, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    ha ha! Fantastic! You must keep that in case he one day miraculously becomes famous! (or appears on crimewatch for stalking!) lol! xxx

     
  3. Mascara and Mud

    April 1, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    Great Story! Did you need one of those Lemon drinks afterwards?! x

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      April 1, 2012 at 6:28 pm

      haha.. I’m always in need of one those lemon drinks… any excuse is a good excuse! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
