RSS

Cinderella’s Slipper

10 Mar

Lately, in preparation for a possible house move this summer, I have been going through my draws (uh er..) and closets to find items I can either give away, sell or car boot sale.  In doing so, I didn’t realise how much of a passion for high-heeled shoes I used to have! I have loads, all different colours, styles, heights, with toes, without toes, stiletto, wedge, corporate, classy.  There they all are, uncared for, unboxed, thrown in a mish mash of shoe chaos, at the bottom of the wardrobe.

I have pre-selected a few pairs of my most cherished heels for my eBay sale: lilac and gold T-bar’s from Karen Millen (think I’ve worn them twice, definitely not more than twice), rose gold stilettos from Ted Baker (why I do I even own them??), cerise pink satin sandal type with diamonté encrusted heels (with matching cluctch bag) – now I know these sound a bit Barbie’ish and I am no way a pink type of Barbie & bows girl, but, they served a purpose for my 30th birthday outfit – no longer required.

I can’t “do” heels anymore.  I don’t know if it’s a post-baby condition but all I can think about is how much they would wreak havoc with my swollen ankles and varicose veins.  Whether those long skinny stilettos would hold all this post-baby weight or not is a totally different matter!

This rekindling of shoe love has brought home to me that post-baby, I am more of a M&S Footglove than a Karen Miller SkyScraper.  Today whilst enjoying a little retail window therapy, I was horrified to realise that I was actually justifying why I couldnt possible wear those, they are SO high, what would I wear them with??  This wasn’t me talking..surely to God…shoes woman! shoes…

I mean, all colours of the rainbow with gold spikes, sitting aloft a Tesco shopping trolley in the window of River Island.  I couldn’t possibly find a reason to own them.  I could have found many reasons to own them a few years back.

Then.  There it was. Perched on a glass shelf in the window of Kurt Geiger.  A sparkly low heeled glittery cinderella shoe with a double bow! Oh for the love of… can I go in? Oi! you over there, strange lady,can you just watch my daughter for five minutes, I have a very important date with THAT shoe! and if it goes well, I’ll invite the other one for a little menage a tois! But somehow I didn’t see these going too well with all the P’s: pee, poo, puke,puree – because that’s what they would be covered with! daily!

I walked away.  I was in shock. I walked away from a delightful pair of shoes that I didn’t need.  I don’t think that have ever happened before – which is probably how I ended up with the rose gold shoes, couldn’t bear to leave the shop empty handed so walked away with a lighter purse and a pair of hideous foot attire!

Past the shops I went; jewellers, cafe’s, music and then I reached Top Shop.  I’m not usually a Top Shop fan but today…today…I couldnt hold myself back! Comfortable, stylish, go with everything and not a heel in sight.

And there you have it.  What is one woman’s embellished Jesus sandal is another woman’s Cinderella slipper!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 10, 2012 in London

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
