RSS

Mummy Has To Go Now

04 Mar

Nine months ago today, you made your entrance into the world. After a long labour you decided that a normal entrance just wasn’t good enough, so you sat tight. And tighter. And tighter. And tighter. Until, along came the lovely Doctor to take you out. You have been my best friend ever since and every day I love you more than I knew was possible.

When family and friends told me what it would be like, “ooh you’ll love it so much in an instant”, “your life will change you know..”, “you wont be the same person after this”. It’s all true. You have changed me in ways that words can’t describe. No day is dark when I’m with you, your little smile lights up every room. I love your eyes, green like the leaves, shiny like the stars. And your little fingers as they curl my hair when you are drifting off to slumber.

Your tiny fingers

These past nine months have been a blessing to me. Every day is cherished like a little jewel in my heart. I remember every moment, every little change; your first smile, your first laugh, the day you rolled over, clapped your hands, how you love the ducks in the park but cry when the goose quacks and when Daddy cried because I asked you ‘where’s your daddy?’ and you turned and looked straight at him and clapped. He couldn’t believe you knew who he was. Of course you did, you’re smart and bright for your little nine months.

I have loved singing with you, learning nursery rhymes and watching you watch Waybaloo, mesmerised. I have loved our swimming classes, you’re doing great honey, just keep your head up and kick your legs! I have loved cooking for you, cleaning your little face full of crumbs, how you scrunch your nose at kiwi and say ‘Mmm’ to tomato. There’s nothing I have loved more than bed times when we snuggle, read a book and share those moments when there are only the two of us.

I love that you love me.

But mummy has to go to work now. Be a big girl. Be a good girl. And remember to tell me everything when I get home.

I promise I wont cry.

Links: www.jameslarkinphotgraphy.com, www.sunsentinel.com

 
21 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2012 in London

 

Tags: , , ,

21 responses to “Mummy Has To Go Now

  1. Maria

    March 5, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    Thats brought tears to my eyes!!

     
  2. Charlotte

    March 5, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    What a lovely post! Be brave! x

     
  3. Natalia

    March 5, 2012 at 10:42 pm

    Oh my god, I am in tears! X

     
    • Joe Larkin

      March 6, 2012 at 11:47 am

      Awwww Kell, that was sooo sweet. I hope you don’t miss her too much at work x

       
  4. Tea&Biscotti

    March 6, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    I’ve been a bit teary but bambina has been fine, she’s hardly noticed the change. She’s even condensed her sleeps into a two hour block – great timing! Why couldnt she have done that last week!! 🙂

     
  5. Lisa @ Hollybobbs

    March 9, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    Just discovered your blog and already crying! Lovely post!

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      March 9, 2012 at 9:00 pm

      Thanks v much, I was very emotional, it was horrific 😦

       
  6. Aimee

    March 9, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    That post is so emotional, it brought a tear to my eye. I felt the same way when I went back to work when my first was ten months old. Sounds like your both doing great though. Lovely blog.

    Aimee x

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      March 9, 2012 at 7:52 pm

      Aw thanks Aimee. Just checked yours out and I’m now following. x

       
  7. gaelicmediummum

    March 9, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    Aw, that’s so lovely. I hated going back to work – there were definitely tears. I’m sure it’ll all be much better than it can seem at first. Good luck!

     
  8. A Working Mum

    March 23, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    What a lovely post. It brings back all the emotions that I felt when I returned to work after my maternity leave finished. I hated it, but it does get easier with time.

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      March 23, 2012 at 8:04 pm

      Thank you.. its getting better, a woman’s work is never done so they say! 🙂

       
  9. ruthcumming

    March 23, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    Aw I cried at that! Reminded me of exactly how I felt when I went back at 9 months. It’s got a bit easier, but still wish I didn’t work. Hope all goes well and that you both settle into things as quickly as possible 🙂

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      March 23, 2012 at 8:05 pm

      Im the same, there’s not a day goes by when i dont pray to win the lottery! Thanks for the comment 🙂

       
  10. Helen

    March 23, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    Such an emotional post. I’ll never forget the day that I returned to work after my two maternity leaves. So hard to leave them. Me too praying for a lottery win xxx

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      March 23, 2012 at 9:31 pm

      I just wonder if my life from now on will be spent wishing for Friday to hurry up and arrive – weekends are so precious! Thanks for your lovely comment x

       
  11. Debbie Young

    March 24, 2012 at 7:23 am

    It’s a no-win situation – I was wracked with guilt for looking forward to returning to work, where I had loads of friends and enjoyed daily office banter and grown- up conversation (and some people tried to make me feel guilty about it too). After a few years (DD now 8) am lucky enough to have arrived at best of both worlds with part-time work, during school hours, term-time only, doing really enjoyable, worthwhile work. This was marginally easier to find such a job than to win the lottery and I am very grateful for my good fortune!

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      March 24, 2012 at 2:10 pm

      Debbie, that sounds like an amazing job and it allows you to do everything – I aspire to have what you have. Thank you for the lovely comment 🙂

       
  12. Anu Anand Hall

    March 24, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    And here I’ve been lamenting the fact that I don’t have a job to go back to! Thanks for reminding me how much I’m enjoying being home with two little ones… and how nice it is not to have to go back, even if that means career uncertainty for now! My son (almost 3) starts play school soon, and I’m certainly NOT ready for that!! Play school… real school… uni… then he moves far far away… waaaahhh!!! Why can’t they slow down???!

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      March 24, 2012 at 7:59 pm

      Oh God, depressing, dont even think about that yet!! You should love every minute of being at home..its precious time.. this time next year I’ll popping round for coffee, you’ll see *deeply sighs*. Thanks for the comment. x

       

Leave a Reply

 
