RSS

To Shower or Not to Shower?

24 Feb

Over the last few days, I’ve been thinking about the direction this blog will take, what with me being a newby and all.  Am I a mummy blogger? life blogger? food blogger? (that’s a definite no).  I just started writing one day and hoped that the route would unveil itself.  Today I’m settling for stinky mummy blogger.

My husband had a job interview today and rather than preparing his stuff last night, he scrambled about this morning, ranting at me from room to room for… wait for it…. not helping him out! There are lots of lost in translation moments in our house but I understood this to mean not ironing his shirt (which he was actually doing struggling with at the time), preparing his bag (he’s not five!), putting petrol in the car and generally wiping his behind.  Meanwhile, I was thankful to be wiping little madam’s behind before her swimming lesson instead of during it.  So he was sorted and she was sorted. That left me.

The house was like it had been ransacked by squatters. I hate going out for the day and coming home to a pigsty but when you live in a stamp sized apartment that has been overtaken by dancing monkey’s and baby regalia, it’s hard to stay spic and span. I gave up and turned my blind eye.

The clock was ticking and I had a bus to catch.  I didn’t have time for a shower.  Am I turning Italian already? My in-laws only get one shower a week so surely in our duel nationality household, not showering is the norm.  What did it matter anyway, I was going to the swimming baths! They have water, it cleans.. that would suffice. I didn’t even pack a travel shower gel for the swimming pool shower and you know why? I’m a mother, I don’t do travel shower gel anymore, what would I do with the baby? So, no shower at home, no shower at the pool.

And despite all this, whilst whizzing little madam around in wavy circles and upping and downing her to the Grand Old Duke of York, I thought…‘oh i must look fine.. I’ve got blusher on!’ .  I looked fine, but did I smell fine? My face wasnt too shabby but thank God my legs were under water because they had starting growing stubble from yesterday’s shave! (I hope nobody noticed my unpainted hairy toes!! note to self: take more pride).

There just aren’t enough hours in the day for it all. I havent had a manicure for nine months. I have developed dark circles under my eyes.  I’m still wearing “big knickers” and I haven’t had a shower for probably about thirty-six hours.  I was thrilled to learn this evening that I’m not alone.  I let out a good old belly laugh when reading Circus Queen’s post on reasons to mingle with other mums – point 2: they give you a reason to have a shower.

And there lies the solution to the shower debate: take a friend with you to the swimming baths, it forces you to pretend you’ve had a shower make an effort!

Shower Time?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2012 in London

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “To Shower or Not to Shower?

  1. Circus Queen

    February 25, 2012 at 10:19 am

    You are definitely not alone in the showerless department. I know mums who alternate days that they shower as an actual time-saving method!

    I think the thing about blogging is that it tends to work better with a coherent theme – that keeps you blogging and builds your audience because they kind of know what to expect when they come back.

    That’s part of why I unashamedly write a mummy blog. I blogged really randomly before and found it a struggle to keep going. I started Circus Queen literally to get to grips with the idea of my pregnancy in a public space. It was also a great way of “meeting” people who had been there before or were going through it or thinking of going through it.

    I do worry, though, that it makes it look as if all I think about is mummy stuff when that’s not true at all. Like you, I definitely couldn’t be a food blogger! Hope you find your groove. It’s nice to have found you.

     
  2. janeblackmore

    February 25, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    I agree with Adele (above) I blog about all types of stuff but falls under ‘mummy blogging’.!

    and who needs to smell nice…..

    xxxxx

     
    • Tea&Biscotti

      February 25, 2012 at 11:07 pm

      Thanks both for your advice. I started off with this England v Italy theme but to be honest, I’m swaying towards mummy blogger, its easier and topics come to mind more naturally. Any hints & tips along the way are VM appreciated! 🙂

       
  3. Charlotte

    February 26, 2012 at 8:05 pm

    Let me just say that i am taking Charlie swimming tomorrow and I do hope the other mums have had showers!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
