RSS

The C Word

23 Feb

I never thought there would be a reason to link my grandmother, my aunty and my mother-in-law and to Beyonce but alas I have found one. Any takers? All survivors!

Ok, so whilst Beyonce sang about being a survivor, the other strong ladies in my life didn’t give up, didn’t stop and did, every bloody day, work harder to beat this MoFo of a disease called Cancer.

Unfortunately my Grandma passed away, my aunty has an AWOL boob but is otherwise fine and my mother-in-law, well…she’s got a dodgy colon and although both present, one malfunctioning boob – yep, she has kept going, TWICE!

All three superwomen had/have lived full lives before being faced with this monster.  I can’t begin to comprehend and hope I never will have to, how it must be for a mummy to find out her baby has been taken over by the Cancer alien *shudder*.  Two years ago, my cousin discovered that her little angel was fighting the demon, aged only two!  It fills me with joy to say that although she lost her curls and her rosy cheeks, she didn’t lose her strength – she’s on the mend, she’s good and she’s a survivor!

This post was written to promote and raise awareness of the CLIC Sargent Yummy Mummy Week – 10th to 18th March 2012.  As part of Nickie’s campaign to raise awareness for this cause. Please show your support by writing a post using this weeks prompts found here and share these posts on your social media streams.

*This is not a sponsored post but is written because no one should have to face cancer without support, especially not children*.

Clic Sargent

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2012 in London

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “The C Word

  1. Circus Queen

    February 25, 2012 at 10:23 am

    I met a scientist who was finding innovative ways to destroy cancer tumors directly and he handed me a model of a tumor. It definitely did match your description of “cancer alien”. It just did not seem like something meant to be in the body.

     
  2. Nickie

    February 29, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    Too many people are hit by this awful disease!! Thank you for writing this and linking up for the final week of the #dosomethingyummy prompts and helping to raise awareness.

     
  3. Tea&Biscotti

    March 1, 2012 at 7:33 am

    Thanks Nickie, it was a pleasure, glad I discovered you! 🙂

     
  4. Nicola Cooper-Abbs

    March 8, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    I’m not sure any of the writing prompts about cancer have made me giggle in the way yours did ‘AWOL boob’ – brilliant. Thanks so much for supporting #dosomethingyummy

     

Leave a Reply

 
