RSS

Amore Mio

14 Feb

“Venice is like eating an entire box of chocolate liqueurs in one go.”

 –Truman Capote

Just one Cornetto..

Whilst Venice is the most romantic city in the world, I have a tiny bit of it at home: my husband.  However, I don’t think he got the message, let alone was in the queue, when the Italian Stallion romance cards were handed out.  He’s not the best at gift buying if previous Valentine gifts are anything to go by:

  • A pair of eyebrow tweezers with a light on – he thought they were practical so I could see the tiny hairs I always miss.  He was either telling me that I was useless at plucking my monobrow or trying to blind me with the light!
  • A pair of skiing salopettes – we’ve never been skiing!
  • A cuticle oil – that he had bought at Christmas on a 3 for 2 special offer.  He had given the other two to his nonna and sister and saved the last one for me!

I never hold out much hope for Valentines where my romantic Italian husband is concerned and I’ve stopped hoping that he will eventually get it right.  I don’t need tweezers or ski pants or cuticle oil.  He’s my best friend and the best daddy, that’s gift enough for me!  (but I wouldn’t turn my nose up at the odd box of Ferrero Roche!).

Ps, I secretly hope he reads this and realises the error of his ways – who am I kidding??! 🙂

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2012 in London

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Amore Mio

  1. Womens Business Club (@WomensBusClubs)

    February 17, 2012 at 11:17 am

    My other half gave me a rubber duck that flashes in the bath. I’m not sure where the thinking was on that one. He’s half forgiven though ‘cos he followed it up with a box of Lindt Lindor chocs.

     
  2. Tea&Biscotti

    February 21, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Glad I’m not alone in the rubbish gift dept. I think he does it on purpose so that when the day arrives for an amazing gift, I’ll be extra appreciative (or suspicious!) 🙂

     
  3. Becky

    February 23, 2012 at 7:32 am

    I once got a wash mitt… for my cellulite!

     
  4. Wedding Planner in Venice

    February 26, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    Love this blog post! Mr B bought me a sawing machine…very useful…but that was a hidden message to let me know he needed some trousers shortened! Stef

     
  5. Tea&Biscotti

    February 26, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    haha Stef.. I was worried for a moment that your husband bought you a chain saw!! You mean a sewing machine… love these Italianisms…lost in translation :-)) Hope you ladies are both well. x

     

Leave a Reply

 
